Home > Sermons > SERMON: Let’s Talk Politics: Obama, Trump … and Asara b’Tevet

SERMON: Let’s Talk Politics: Obama, Trump … and Asara b’Tevet

December 21, 2015

Every once in a while I mention in my sermons that I don’t like to discuss politics from the pulpit and many of you just sit there and giggle! Well, today I am going to talk politics from the pulpit, and what I have to say is nothing to laugh about. But in order for me, as a rabbi, to talk politics I first must disguise it by a D’var Torah regarding the Fast of Asara b’Tevet.

This Tuesday is a sad day in the Jewish calendar. It is the 10th day of Tevet and I think it is fair to say that most Jews don’t know – or don’t care – about that day. Really, how many of you who come to shul every Shabbat know what the Fast of Asara b’Tevet commemorates? Yet our tradition considers it a significant day. There were other fast days that our people used to commemorate which over the centuries were removed from the calendar. Indeed, there used to be fasts on the 8th and 9th of Tevet as well. We no longer observe them. After all, if we fasted every day that had a tragic event took place for the Jews, we would never have to go on a diet! But our rabbis kept the fast of the 10th day of Tevet, and in fact considered it so important that whereas other fast days, besides Yom Kippur, which come out on Shabbos are delayed. If Asara b’Tevet could fall on Shabbos, it would not be delayed. READ MORE

