Home > Sermons > SERMON: To Thine Own Selfie Be True

SERMON: To Thine Own Selfie Be True

September 25, 2015

Before we get to this year, let me first give you an update about last year. Last year in my Yom Kippur Yizkor sermon dealing with my 70th birthday, I told you that I had bought a watch which you program with some information about your age and your health, and then the watch tells you the present time … and how much time you have left until you die. And then you watch the minutes tick down. Well, after Yom Kippur I put that watch away. I didn’t think about it again until shortly before Rosh Hashanah. I took it out of the drawer to see how much time I had left. And lo and behold, I looked at the watch … and the battery had died! So much for last year’s prop. Now, for this year’s!

What is this? (Holding up selfie stick).  If I had asked you that question two years ago most all of you would not have known the answer. Had I asked this question last year most everybody under 50 would have known the answer. This year everyone knows the answer, especially if you have recently traveled. Sherry and I were in Rome and Venice with our granddaughters this past June. People were selling these on every corner. And they weren’t doing such great business because everyone already seemed to have one! It is a “selfie stick.” READ MORE

