Home > Uncategorized > SERMON–Rosh Hashanah 5776: Iran, Israel, America…and the Jews

SERMON–Rosh Hashanah 5776: Iran, Israel, America…and the Jews

September 16, 2015

I woke up Thursday morning, August 6, and read a Tweet that the night before Maryland Senator, Ben Cardin, had met with the President of the U.S. I immediately emailed our Senator:

Dear Ben,
I understand that you met with the President last night. I’m sure you are aware of the fact that I know a lot more about the situation in Iran than he does! If you have any questions, I – and my military aides – are available for discussion.

The fact of the matter is it is very possible that the President knows more than I know … more than most anyone knows. How many of us know one centrifuge from another? How many of us know what “yellow cake” is if it doesn’t come in a box from Manischewitz? So what do I know? But in the past, that hasn’t stopped me from talking! Yossi Klein Halevi, one of Israel’s most respected and responsible writers, tells us that Israel is facing the greatest danger to its existence since 1948. How can I not speak about it? This is one of those moments in time that are truly historic. In the U’netane Tokef prayer we recite on the High Holidays we find the angels “trembling and shaking; Heini baw yom hadin – behold the Day of Judgement is here.” This Rosh Hashanah it is not just the angels who are trembling and shaking! With the vote on the Iran agreement, all of us are trembling and shaking! The vote may be over but the aftershocks are going to be felt for many years to come.

So this morning let me tell you how I feel about the agreement and what I know about it. I want to give you three perspectives on how I feel in my heart about what has unfolded; the perspective of an American, the perspective of a Jew, and the perspective of an American Jew. But first let me tell you what I KNOW… what I think by now we should all know. READ MORE

Categories: Uncategorized
