Home > Sermons > SERMON: There’s So Much To Talk About …

SERMON: There’s So Much To Talk About …

April 20, 2015

For me, the most difficult part in preparing a sermon is to decide what I should speak about. It’s not always easy to think of a topic. Today I have a very different challenge … what should I NOT speak about? There are so many topics to choose from! Shall I speak about Yom Hashoah –Holocaust Remembrance Day that took place this past Thursday? Or should I speak about Yom Ha-Atzmaut  – Israel Independence Day, which takes place this coming Thursday?  Should I talk about today’s Torah portion? Or, should I just talk about the Bat Mitzvah of my granddaughter? I couldn’t decide, so let’s see if I can do it all!

Let’s begin with this question: Which should play a greater role in our being Jewish – the Holocaust or the re-establishment of the state of Israel? I know the obvious answer is: both! Both are crucially important and both are central to our existence. But if you had to choose ONE which is most significant to your identity as a Jew, what would you choose? That is a question that thousands of Jews were asked in the Pew Survey. When people were asked, “What is essential to being Jewish?” 73% replied, “remembering the Holocaust.” 43% answered “caring about Israel,” just 1 % more than responded “having a good sense of humor.” The Holocaust beats Israel every time! READ MORE

