Home > Articles, Sermons > SERMON: Washington Redskins: Does a Name Really Matter?

SERMON: Washington Redskins: Does a Name Really Matter?

November 18, 2013

I usually know what I’m talking about …or so I think!  But let me tell you about a time that even I knew that I didn’t know what I was talking about!  It happened last month when I appeared on the local TV program, “Square Off.” As you know, from time to time I serve as one of the four panelists on Richard Sher’s program, discussing and debating issues of local and national interest. The program is aired on Sunday but is taped on the Friday before.  A day or two before the panelists are emailed the subjects that are to be discussed so that, in fact, we should know what we’re talking about.  But that week, for some reason, I wasn’t notified.  But I came to the program on Friday and told them that it didn’t matter what the subjects were; I was sure I would have an opinion on them and if the other three panelists had the same opinion as I did, I would feel very comfortable arguing the other point of view just to make the program interesting!  So, the taping started and all went smoothly, until we came to the last question which was: Should the Washington Redskins change their name?  This seemingly innocent question has evoked some heated discussion in the media … and not just the media!  The District of Columbia’s City Council passed a resolution calling for a change of the name of the team, with the feeling that the word “Redskins” is offensive, and demands made by some American Indian tribes for its removal. READ MORE

You should know our synagogue’s overwhelming vote was not to change the name of the Washington Redskins.  In light of our discussion of names, these two articles are of interest … keep in mind that the mother of our Bar Mitzvah – and her family – are from the Philippines.

First baby born in IDF field hospital in Philippines named ‘Israel’

What Cynthia Ozick Taught Me About My Grandfather

