Home > Sermons > SERMON: Women of the Wall

SERMON: Women of the Wall

March 18, 2013

It is one of my favorite photographs … so much so that I have it framed and it is placed in my office, because it reminds me that I’m not crazy!

You know by now that as an Orthodox rabbi I frequently go against the prevailing mindset. I am an Orthodox rabbi who sees no problem in a woman becoming a rabbi. I am an Orthodox rabbi who sees the increased involvement of women in learning Torah, carrying the Torah, conducting a women’s tefillah, reading the Megillah and all other recent innovations that are halachically permitted, as being one of the most positive developments on the American Jewish scene. I am an Orthodox rabbi who sees no problem in a woman putting on a tallit and tefillin (I’m definitely not going to get into an altercation with Leba Diamond!). I am an Orthodox rabbi who is upset and totally opposed to the domination that the ultra-Orthodox community has established in Israel. READ MORE

Categories: Sermons Tags: , , ,
