Home > Sermons > Chayei Sarah Sermon: “Can’t We All Get Along?”

Chayei Sarah Sermon: “Can’t We All Get Along?”

November 12, 2012

A Post-Election Reflection

Even though it happened 32 years ago, I remember it like yesterday.  It was the first week of November, 1980 … that Monday my father, of blessed memory, underwent quadruple by-pass surgery.  I had come into New York on Sunday to be with him and my mother and brothers.  The doctor told us it would be 24 hours before we would know if things were okay.  Finally, early Tuesday afternoon the word came: all was well!  November 4th, 1980 … that was Election Day … Ronald Reagan was running against the incumbent Jimmy Carter.  I did not like Jimmy Carter.  It ends up that most of America didn’t like Jimmy Carter as President.  But my wife Sherry, she should live and be well, never met a conservative Republican that she liked.  And so I called her that day and I said, “Sherry, look I feel bad that I’m not home and I can’t vote.  But you know I would vote for Reagan, as I know you would vote for Carter.  Do me a favor and don’t vote this year.  That way, it will be a wash and I can stay here with my father in New York.”  And Sherry, in her sweet, charming manner said to me, “FUHGEDDABOUDIT!  I’m a citizen of the United States; it’s my obligation as a citizen to vote and I am going to vote.”  I then told Sherry how impressed I was with her sense of patriotism (or something to that effect) and we hung up.  And I took a Metroliner home so that I could vote.  READ MORE

