Home > Sermons > From Bikinis to Burqas: Finding the Middle Ground

From Bikinis to Burqas: Finding the Middle Ground

September 19, 2012

It’s been quite a few years since I delivered a sermon to you on the
second day of Rosh Hashana. It’s been much easier preparing one Rosh
Hashana sermon and delivering it the first day here and the second day
in the Auditorium. But we are trying something different this year. We
anticipate that next year, because of its growth, the Chapel service will
be moving into the Auditorium. And while many – or most – of the
people in the Auditorium will remain there, we are hoping to encourage
some of them to move over to the Sanctuary. Part of that
encouragement is my delivering the sermon here on both days of Rosh
Hashana as well as Kol Nidre and both here and in the Auditorium on
Yizkor.

So I asked myself: what could I talk about that people who were
not here would regret not hearing and eventually want to be here. What
subject matter could I seize that would immediately capture people’s
imagination? After much thought, I decided that today I am going to
talk about BREASTS! Even I can’t believe that I just said that! I told
you that I was going to talk about a subject that no rabbi had talked
about before, and I knew I would when I woke up on Friday, May 8 of
this year. READ MORE

