Home > Articles, Videos > Sweet things for the New Year 5773

Sweet things for the New Year 5773

September 14, 2012

Dear Friends,

I wanted to share a few “sweet” things for the New Year:

1. First, a contemporary New Year wish: Almighty God, My prayer for 5773 is for a fat bank account and a thin body. Please don t mix these up like You did last year. Amen.

2. A Rosh Hashanah Guide for the Perplexed, courtesy of former Ambassador Yoram Ettinger.

3. Two beautiful versions of Avinu Malkeinu: the first is for the cool ones amongst you from Phish it starts at about the four minute mark; the other is by Barbara Streisand.

4. A wish for a high-tech New Year.

5. A bitter-sweet perspective of Rosh Hashanah for those who have suffered losses this past year: Looking Back at a Year of Personal Adversity.

6. What To Do in 5773: Dr. Ruth, Shmuley Boteach, Mayim Bialik, Shalom Auslander, and 23 more on ensuring a meaningful year.

7. Shana Tova from me and Beth Tfiloh’s 5th & 6th Grade Students

And now for a traditional blessing:

May this year be a year of good health and success for us and our loved ones, peace and security for our brave brothers and sisters in Israel, freedom and equality for all humankind. And yes, this year more than ever, I wish you what I wish myself: good health for me and all of us.

