Home > Sermons > BT High School Graduation Address: Make Time for Your People

BT High School Graduation Address: Make Time for Your People

June 13, 2012

While I alone stand here, I do not stand alone. I would not be standing here if not for Morty Macks and Haron Dahan. To date they are the ones who gave me the most, yes! But more important, to date they are the ones who taught me the most. I am a Dean and much more because of them. I thank them from the bottom of my heart!

Most every commencement address has two things in common: one, it’s very long and two, it’s very boring. As you will see for yourself, I’m going to take care of the very long part! But to make sure I’m not boring, I decided not to depend on my own words, but on the words that three others who have spoken at commencement addresses.

The first was spoken by the popular writer, Anna Quindlen, whose memoir is now a bestseller. She describes how she once stood up before a graduating class and after looking out at the graduates, her first words were, “Five minutes ago I was you.” I’m not sure all of you will understand what Ms. Quindlen meant, but I can assure you that you will in 50 years! READ MORE

