Home > Sermons > Hindquarters and Kosher Pig: Is Food Jewish?

Hindquarters and Kosher Pig: Is Food Jewish?

December 13, 2011

I looked back over the sermons I’ve delivered in recent weeks since the end of the holidays and I saw that I had spoken about Gilad Shalit, Steve Jobs, Mitt Romney, Maimonides, Barack Obama, Bibi Netanyahu, Nickolas Sarkozy, Elana Kagan, Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Leonard Garment, Henry Kissinger … and I must tell you the truth: I felt like I’m the biggest yenta in the whole world!

So this morning I wanted to do something “light.” It’s been a difficult week, so I’m not going to talk about a person; I’m going to talk about a “thing.” And what thing is central to the life of every Jew? Food! And if you don’t believe me, come to Beth Tfiloh – or most any shul – on any Shabbat and stand in the corner and watch as the people come in for Kiddush. It looks like the running of the bulls in Pampalona. What one minute before looked like a group of well-dressed, respectful, mild mannered, Shabbat worshippers … all of a sudden turns in to a wild mob, ready to kill anyone who stands in their way of getting a piece of kugel. It’s unbelievable! And it can only be matched by the tuna fish and egg salad that people put into their pockets for a little snack later on at home. And it is never enough! It’s like the Jewish woman sitting in a restaurant with her husband complaining, “The food here is so terrible and the portions are so small.” READ MORE

Categories: Sermons Tags: , ,
