Home > Uncategorized > Shemini Atzeret Sermon: Time Flies! For that you win a Nobel Prize?

Shemini Atzeret Sermon: Time Flies! For that you win a Nobel Prize?

October 27, 2011

This is the year I feel cheated. The Nobel prizes have been given out … and I was not included! And I should have been! I should have won the Nobel prize in physics, this despite the fact that I never took a class in physics and, in fact, may not even know how to spell the word correctly! But I should have won it this year. The Nobel Prize in physics was won by three men … Saul Perlmutter, Brian Schmidt and Johns Hopkins’ own Adam Riess. What it took these three great minds many years to discover, I had already discovered long before them! Their award was given “for the discovery of the accelerating expansion of the universe through observations of distant super novae.” It had been thought that the expansion of the universe was slowing down, but in fact, the Nobel Prize winners discovered quite the opposite … that the expansion is accelerating and “if the expansion will continue to speed up, the universe will end in ice.” For this you win a Nobel Prize? For discovering that things are going faster and faster? I’ve known that for nearly seven years now, ever since the day I turned 60. READ MORE

Have you seen the pictures of Ivanka Trump walking to shul with her husband, holding what the media has reported as flowers instead of what it really is…a lulav? Read Ivanka Trump Goes to Shul on Sukkot and the Media Doesn’t Get It to get the full story.

Categories: Uncategorized
