Home > Sermons > Why Didn’t Joseph Call Home?

Why Didn’t Joseph Call Home?

December 13, 2010

SHABBAT SERMON – DECEMBER 11, 2010
RABBI MITCHELL WOHLBERG

Why Didn’t Joseph Call Home?

Let me tell you what I would do to Julian Assange, the man behind Wikileaks, if I were
President of the United States. If I were the President I would send a commando unit to capture Mr. Assange alive. I would then have him transferred to Guantanamo where I would have him water boarded. I would then take him outside where a pre-arranged predator drone would fire a missile at him which would totally obliterate him from the face of the earth. That’s what I would do if I were President of the United States. And that, of course, goes a long way in explaining why I am not the President of the United States!

Julian Assange, who took it upon himself to release more than 250,000 confidential
cables from our State Department, is to be utterly condemned for what he did. I know there are some who seek to defend his actions. I’m sure those “some” would not have wanted him to reveal their emails. Mr. Assange did not perform any public service. One could legitimately argue that what Daniels Ellsberg did with the Pentagon papers, while illegal, served a positive purpose in revealing some of the flaws that were involved in the Vietnam War. But the fact is that the information that Mr. Assange revealed did not make America look bad … it showed America’s ongoing attempt to fight terrorism and to stop nuclear proliferation. What Mr. Assange did only makes American diplomacy more difficult … he has shaken up the world of diplomacy for no reason other than his own personal ego-gratification. He is an anarchist, a terrorist, a criminal, a  megalomaniac, a detestable human being to whom today, publicly, I say: Thank you, Mr. Assange! READ MORE

Categories: Sermons
