Home > Sermons > Obama’s Nobel Prize

Obama’s Nobel Prize

October 26, 2009

My October 24, 2009 Shabbat Sermon, “Obama’s Nobel Prize”, is now available on the Beth Tfiloh sermon webpage.

October 24, 2009 – Shabbat Sermon
“Obama’s Nobel Prize”

When I heard that Barack Obama had won the Nobel Prize, I immediately felt bad for my brother, Saul. Based on the standards the Nobel Committee must have used in choosing President Obama, my brother Saul deserved to win the prize in 1954. It was in 1954 that my brother graduated from elementary school. At that time, next to his yearbook picture, were the following words: “Saul is our most promising student … he is always promising to do better!” That’s quite a way to build up a child’s self-esteem, but obviously being “promising” the Nobel Committee feels is worthy enough to win the award. Read more

Categories: Sermons Tags:
